About the Box Hill electorate


The Box Hill electorate is located in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, about 12km from the city centre.

It takes in the suburbs of Box Hill, Box Hill North, Mont Albert, Mont Albert North and Blackburn and parts of Balwyn, Surrey Hills, Canterbury, Blackburn North, Forest Hill and Nunawading.

It is within the Eastern Metropolitan Region of the Legislative Council and takes in parts of two Federal electorates — Kooyong (Josh Frydenberg MP), and Chisholm (Gladys Liu MP).

The electorate also takes in parts of both the City of Whitehorse and City of Boroondara.

Primary schools in the electorate are Balwyn, Box Hill North, Chatham, Kerrimuir, Mont Albert, Surrey Hills, Blackburn, Blackburn Lake, Laburnum, St Thomas, Old Orchard and Nunawading Christian College Primary. Secondary schools are Box Hill High School, Koonung Secondary College, Blackburn High School, Nunawading Christian College and Box Hill Senior Secondary College, a stand-alone Year 11 and 12 college.

Box Hill Institute of TAFE (Technical and Further Education) has most of its campuses within the electorate, including its main campus in Elgar Road.

Box Hill also has a major public hospital within its boundaries — Box Hill Hospital, located in Nelson Road.

The electorate is served by the Lilydale and Belgrave train lines. The Box Hill shopping centre includes a transport interchange, with buses terminating on the upper levels of the Centre, while the trains pass below street level. The tram 109 service terminates in Whitehorse Road, adjacent to the Box Hill mall.

Box Hill Central anchors the main Box Hill business centre, which also features other shops and professional and business offices. There are also several suburban shopping strips within the electorate, including Balwyn, Mont Albert, Kerrimuir, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Blackburn South (Canterbury Road), Laburnum and parts of Belmore Road.

The electorate is well-served by restaurants, with Chinese, Malaysian, Italian, Indian, Lebanese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Thai and other cuisines. Until 1999, restaurants could only have a BYO licence due to the “dry area” status of the electorate. Following a poll, restaurants in the Whitehorse part of the “dry area” can now obtain a full liquor licence.

Last updated 31/10/20